I Need Advice on Managing Blood Sugar Levels During Exercise

Hey everyone, :innocent:

I have been managing Type 1 diabetes for the past five years, and recently I’ve stepped up my exercise routine with jogging and strength training. However, I’m having a tough time keeping my blood sugar levels steady during and after workouts.

No matter what I try, my blood sugar seems to go on a rollercoaster, making it hard to stick to a consistent exercise plan. I’m looking for tips and strategies from others who’ve dealt with this.

I’m especially interested in:

• Pre-workout snacks or meals that help keep blood sugar stable.
  • The best ways to monitor blood sugar during different types of exercise.
  • Insulin dose and timing adjustments that have worked for you.

I also check this: https://forum.breakthrought1d.org/t/after-breakfast-high-blood-sugarsalteryx But I have not found any solution. Could anyone suggest the best solution for this? and suggest any advice or personal experiences would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

Respected community member :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

1 Like

Hi Alberto. Not knowing anything about your current management plan, workouts, goals and results I’ll just throw out there that for a T1D exercise will always go better when you can plan ahead for the workout. I like going first thing in the morning so I have a known and minimal insulin on board and no to minimal food on board. Even with the best planning there will be some days a workout just doesn’t work. One of the T1D endos over at TCOYD tells a story of being on the treadmill at the gym and drinking a coke to try to keep his BG from crashing and having the internal debate of “is the workout worth it if I just consumed all the calories I was trying to burn.” Happens to all of us, minimizing how often it happens is hard work.