16month old Type 1 Diabetic

Hi, I’m very new to this forum bit I’m glad I found it. My son has recently been diagnosed with type 1 diabetes, he is only 16months old. We found out when he went into DKA. It has been a rollercoaster ride since we got back back from the hospital. Everytime I feel like we have a routine something stops working. At first he was going high all the time. And now he tends to go low even during the day. He is on a sliding scale. He gets short acting and long acting insulin. I have a lot of questions, even though we have a great support that we found a pediatric endocrinologist but she seems very dismissive about my concerns, maybe because she goes through million patients and parents like me. But I’m new to this. I have no clue what this is. So I want to ask some of my questions here in hopes that someone would be able to answer.

1. How high is your blood sugar supposed to go after you eat like right after you eat? Now that we have dexcom it gives us numbers every minute and I see him go as high as 400 after a meal. But he does come down in 2,3 hours because of insulin. I want to know is this normal? Or his blood sugar is not supposed to spike this much even after eating?
  2. He is not gaining weight even though he is eating and his appetite seems to have increased also. I know its too early since his diagnosis. But his weight has not changed even a pound in 3months. His pediatrician does not seem to have an answer. His endocrinologist like I said is a bit dismissive about my concerns. But I’m worried. Do diabetes have a struggle with weight gain? Mind you he also has celiac so he is on a Gluten free diet. Im trying to find a diabetic nutritionist who has experience in pediatrics but that in itself is going to be a struggle. Meanwhile im trying to do as much as I can.