Artificial pancreas?

So this is less of a statement more of a question I’ve been asking as an aspiring bio-med engineer, I want to help research into an artificial pancreas or something to take away all the struggles of T1D, how far do you all believe we as a community of T1Ds can take this? Possibly even removing the need for insulin shots due to making artificial pancreisis available for most people? Or even finding something completely different? And what does everyone think of pancreas transplants? Too risky, or worth it? If anyone wants to theorize with me about T1 advancement’s please do!

2 Likes

I like and admire your ambition, Landen @REESEScups07!

Do keep in mind that a true Artificial Pancreas will do much more than
“only” replace the beta-cells that produce insulin, but also provide, among other features, the alpha-cells, and the t-cells that work with the beta-ells to regulate the body’s glucose levels. A company, Beta Bionics, has been working on a project like this that uses a pump with dual cartridges - insulin and glucagon; currently at level four testing for approval
The person who discovered and identified insulin in 1886, and published a paper in 1889, Paul Langerhans, also identified the other cells operating to regulate body glucose levels - the section where these cells reside in the pancreas is called The Islets of Langerhans. Between 1890 and 1922 when Banting and Best hit upon pig insulin that would work in humans, there were many scientists experimenting in this attempt to help us.

there have been attempts at transplant but this has been found difficult - one factor is the difficulty getting to and retrieving a working pancreas from a donor. Whatever you can do in this field will be a BIG step for people like us - as we all know insulin - injected or infused - is just a stop-gap allowing us to live. Your ambition to create a working pancreas would do away from the needles and pump.

1 Like