Smart Guard troubles

Curious if anyone uses the Medtronic 780g. I’ve had mine for about four and a half months. I use the Smart Guard feature.
My glucose is often over 200, sometimes over 300. I keep a detailed journal and there is no pattern.
When my glucose goes over 170 I sweat, shake, get lightheaded and very short of breath. The person I see is of no help - goes into this long spiel about calibration and trending forward.
Anyone have any suggestions?
Thanks!

Have you called Medtronic support?

Hi @boothompson . I’m not a medical professional but from a layperson’s point of view your symptoms sound like ones associated with both low blood sugar (not the case) or panic attack. I wonder if you are panicking when your numbers are higher than you would like them to be? I’m not saying the problem is all in your head - panic attacks are very real, and learning how to manage them can make a huge difference, as can setting realistic goals for your numbers, if need be.
Just as important - if your medical practitioner is not listening to your concerns, look for another one.
If you don’t mind my asking, how long has it been since you were diagnosed with Type1?

1 Like

PS - can you operate the 780G in manual mode - that is, turn off the closed loop so you make corrections on your own? Doing that is counterintuitive, I know, but I find that sometimes works better for me, and it might help you see some patterns🤞🏾.

1 Like

Not yet because the assistant to the person I see is a Medtronic trainer. They were supposed to get back to me- days ago.

I don’t think I’m having a panic attack. I can be reading a book and suddenly feel awful - sweating, shaky and short of breath. I check my pump and do a fingerstick- I’m high (over 170 for me).
If I get to 200 I “fake” carbs to get more insulin. The person I see has a fit, tells me I cannot do that. Maybe not but I sure can’t continue this way.