OmniPod 5 Users!

Hi all!! :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

I’ve been podding since 2014 with the dash and recently switched to the 5 when it came out. Does anyone know what you normally do if the pod is correcting and when you’re ready to eat you have more than 1u on board from the micro blouses. Do you give yourself regular bolus or let the pump calculate the amount. I’m afraid I’d stacking but I don’t want my sugar to rise.

Also any tips you have that you’ve discovered or learned please feel free to share with me here! I really am trying to get my a1c down and prepare for another baby I have a long way to go but I’m struggling with my numbers and trusting the pump after having too many potential lows out of no where from my pump correcting my highs.

Thanks in advance! :heartpulse:

Enter your glucose and the number of carbs you will be taking in. The system will adjust for IOB, so if you have 1 unit on board and you need 5 for your meal, it will give you 4.

2 Likes

Isn’t that considered stacking?

Stacking is when you take additional insulin over and above what should be needed for the carbs you took in. It typically happens if you see your numbers rising and add on some more to help out what you took before.
If you’re eating another meal or snack you’ll usually need to take insulin to cover that, so it’s a regular bolus, not stacking.

Also, if corrections are doing you too much you might want to look at your correction factor or your target BG in your background settings. It sounds like you might benefit from a refresher with your trainer - I was in contact with mine for several weeks after I switched to the Omnipod5. I also found this Juicebox podcast helpful: Omnipod 5 — JUICEBOX PODCAST

1 Like

Hi! Well, yes. It all depends on if the pump correction is working and the type of carbs for the next snack and how active I am going to be in the 4 hours following.